CORE SignatureRGB



SEPTEMBER 17-20, 2015

San Francisco, CA – July 28, 2015 – Soprano Ailyn Pérez will step in for Susanna Phillips who has had to withdraw from NewAilyn Perez Century Chamber Orchestra’s 2015-2016 season opening performances September 17-20. Ms. Pérez graciously agreed to travel to San Francisco between her performances in the role of Mimi in La Bohème at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan, and the world premiere of Jake Heggie and Terrance McNally’s Great Scott at the Dallas Opera. The program showcases masterworks by Russian composers and will feature Ms. Pérez as soloist for Tchaikovsky’s “Letter Scene” from Eugene Onegin and Rachmaninoff’s Vocalise.

Highly sought after by the world’s leading opera houses, Ailyn Pérez has been hailed as a “major soprano” (The New York Times) and an artist “who truly seems to have it all” (Opera News). As the first Hispanic winner in the 35-year history of the prestigious Richard Tucker Award, Ms. Pérez went on to win the 15th annual Placido Domingo Award in the same year. A firm favorite in the Bay Area, Ms. Pérez is a graduate of the San Francisco Opera’s Merola program (2005). In her 2014 role as Violetta in the San Francisco Opera production of La Traviata, Joshua Kosman of the San Francisco Chronicle said “Her singing was full-bodied and rich in color, with long-breathed phrases sumptuously sustained and an emotional depth to everything she undertook” and praised her as “the evening’s brightest luminary.” Ms. Pérez recently made her Metropolitan Opera debut in February 2015 in a highly successful performance as Micaëla in Bizet’s Carmen and looks forward to upcoming appearances with Teatro alla Scala, Dallas Opera, Houston Grand Opera before returning again to the Metropolitan Opera.

New Century Chamber Orchestra and Music Director Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg recently announced the 2015-2016 season including four subscription weeks in venues across the Bay Area. The ensemble’s 24th season, Nadja’s eighth as music director, includes a World Premiere commission by Pulitzer prize-winning Featured Composer Jennifer Higdon, British violinist Daniel Hope as Guest Concertmaster leading a program of works in tribute to his mentor Yehudi Menuhin, a debut solo appearance by internationally acclaimed klezmer clarinetist David Krakauer and a repeat collaboration with the San Francisco Girls Chorus. The season repertoire encompasses a broad range of masterworks from the string ensemble repertoire including a program of works by Russian masters Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff and Shostakovich, an entire program of dance works by Strauss, Stravinsky and Khachaturian, contemporary works by Pärt, Takemitsu, Glass and Bechara El-Koury in addition to Christmas and Hanukah holiday favorites.


Letters from Russia

September 17-20, 2015

Open Rehearsal: Wednesday, September 16, 10 a.m., Kanbar Performing Arts Center, San Francisco
Thursday, September 17, 8 p.m., First Congregational Church, Berkeley

Friday, September 18, 8 p.m., First United Methodist Church, Palo Alto

Saturday, September 19, 8 p.m., San Francisco Conservatory of Music

Sunday, September 20, 5pm, Osher Marin JCC, San Rafael

: “Letter Scene” from Eugene Onegin

Shostakovich: Elegy and Polka

Rachmaninoff: Vocalise

Pärt: Trisagion

Jennifer Higdon: Strings from Concerto for Orchestra

Jennifer Higdon: String Lake from All Things Majestic

Jennifer Higdon: To the Point